Expect the Unexpected

On Saturday, March 22 I was part of the 30th annual “Evening of Magic” at the High Street Arts Center in Moorpark, CA. The show, an annual fundraiser for student scholarships, also featured performances by Jonathan Levit, Paul Dwork, Ron Saylor, and juggler Michael Rayner.  Unexpectedly, this is the photo that happened to make the front page of the Ventura County Star:

 

 

 

 

 

While in LA I also began shooting the first round of interviews for my new documentary film project. In one day I managed to interview Christopher Hart, magic creator Don Wayne, Rudy Coby, and Max Maven.


It was a wonderful experience having conversations with some of my magic idols.


Suffice it to say that I am very excited to have begun production on this project! The topic, you ask? In short, it’s a discussion about performers who have had their acts or material copied, or “ripped off” by other people. This is a problem that we are seeing more and more frequently these days. Back in December, as I was putting together a side-by-side video of Turkish magicians performing (on television) signature routines of other performers I was struck with the urge to raise awareness of this issue. And, hopefully, resolve the distinction of copying someone versus being inspired by them. I still have many more interviews to get with fellow performers so I will have more information to share with you about this project in the coming months.

Finally, my last couple of days in LA were spent with my friend Rick Gerber.  We began shooting some videos for a secret project. I have worked with Rick on a few different projects now and one of the things I always enjoy is seeing what creative things we come up with while shooting. This particular project took me back to my experimental film days.
At one point during the shoot, this happened…

Leave a comment